Climbto350 sucks… 🥱

Job boards don’t work for low time pilots, and here’s why

I don’t know exactly how you stumbled upon The Road to 1500.

If you don’t know who I am, my name is Ivan. I’m a low time pilot (400 hours) shooting for a survey seat this upcoming season.

I have been on the job market for so long that I have accumulated literal months’ worth of research, so I started sharing what I find interesting.

I’ve been around the block. But one thing I never believed in are paid aviation job boards.

So as most of you know, I’m trying out climbto350 for the first time. If you’re a new subscriber, there’s a welcome email waiting for you in your mailbox. If you can’t see it in your primary, it probably has landed in the spam folder.

Please, read it, so you understand what today’s post is all about.

An honest review…

It hasn’t even been a week yet, so it might be a little soon to say this, but here’s how I feel: job boards suck.

I checked out every position listed the month of March (about 470 jobs) and there was only one low time pilot job in the mix.

There’s a catch however. Making a judgement based on older posts isn’t reliable, because once a position is filled, the employer can delete the post.

So there might have been more low time pilot jobs. We know how fast these go, so it’d make sense that the employer would delete the ad once the position filled. We’ll see…

These archives are great for research though. For example, I just found out Barr Air Patrol hires at 700TT and 800TT. (new jobs for the database, hehe)

700TT to fly a C172

800TT to fly a C206

Keep in mind these posts are well expired now. But seeing that Barr hires at lower than 1500TT was interesting.

What about recent relevant openings?

As I said, there aren’t much opportunities for us displayed on the website. A lot of leads, but extremely few are for low time pilots.

Here are two low time jobs from February:

Skydive OC: 500TT, 25 hours in C182

Part 135 VFR Minimums

If it’s that useless, why bother then?

Let’s not forget there are companies out there who solely rely on climbto350 to advertise new openings. They either don’t have other means to, or that’s just how they do things. That’s the case of JAV Imagery, a super low-time-friendly aerial survey operator. So, when they start hiring for the upcoming season, those who don’t have access to climbto350 won’t be notified of the window opening.

There are also these two companies I hadn’t heard of before: Pipeline Air Patrol and Tuck Mapping Solutions.

800TT, doesn’t have a website

No minimums listed

Both are somewhat recent. Probably the only positive thing about the site is that if you look hard enough, there definitely are unique opportunities listed on here.

Final verdict…

Still too early to say, but I don’t think anyone will be getting that many low time job leads from climbto350, or any aviation job board for that matter. At least, not for now.

I think job boards are only a tiny percentage of what you and I need to find a job. You might get lucky and get a unicorn job through a job board ad, sure, but don’t count on it.

→ Keep up the research. Do your due diligence. Reach out to the relevant people. Apply, apply and re-apply.

These actions will yield far better results than a mere subscription.

And by the way…

The low time pilot jobs database was designed to serve that exact purpose.

I’ve already talked about it enough this past week (link to that), so before you close this email, let me just show you what’s inside:

Who really needs a job board if you can have that? 👆(+ the bonus anyway)

And no recurring payment to be made because, all things considered, $19.99 every month for a job board with ZERO actual jobs is just NOT worth it.

Get the 2024 database today, and if you feel like the juice wasn’t worth the squeeze, we’ll give you your money back. 

Join the conversation

or to participate.