SKYDIVING SEASON IS COMING

feat. Jumpers Away

iykyk

Yes, I’ve said it a lot, skydiving season is at hand.

I actually sent a couple leads on dropzones hiring throughout the week in our group chat, if you missed it.

Well


While doing my research on the skydive pilot job market, I came across a jump pilot training program.

It’s called Jumpers Away, and if you’re in a hurry to get that first job, you’re going to like this one.

Low time pilots usually face two issues when looking for their first gig: information and qualification.

We’ve all been there, scouring the internet for anybody looking for pilots.

‘Finally, found something!’ we say but — reality check.

« Hard minimums: 500TT. »

It’s crazy how high they get these days


And we can’t really help not meeting the requirements: we’re fresh commercial pilots.

So we get back into that googling and climbto350-ing rabbit-hole.

The longer that goes on, the less proficient we become.

The more your recency runs out, the less marketable you are.

The Jumpers Away course addresses *both* problems.

Ed, the owner and your instructor, trains you to become an employable jump pilot regardless of your flight experience and helps finding you a job after graduation.

How does that work?

Completion of his course essentially gives you the good grace of the insurance company, which makes them “favorably consider” adding you to their policy even at lower hours.

To cut the legal verbiage, it means bye-bye 500TT hard minimums. Jumpers Away graduates with as low as 284TT have gotten hired (proof).

But that’s also because Ed has been in the skydiving space for so long. His network will definitely get you a jump pilot job faster than your own. Some graduates get an offer while still in traning.

Now, Ed has an individual trainings policy. That is one pilot a week starting late April.

So yeah, you should probably grab your spot now. (link)

As always, can’t preach without proof. Their facebook page is pretty much already a living testimonial that it works.

Still, one of our very own members has taken the course. I’ll let him speak for himself.

In the Newsletter Private Community, we were talking about how much a pilot should have to invest in additional training to jumpstart his career

Wait, do you still want more?

I got you.

I was skeptic too at first, can’t lie, so I had to ask the employers themselves.

Crystal Coast Skydiving has hired Jumpers Away graduates in the past

You should be familiar with this one.

Hit home with their reply, didn’t they?

“Get your time up or go take the Jumpers Away course and come back only then.”

Fair enough.

đŸȘ‚

I am wrapping up the skydiving season prep’ series. So I put together a little guide on how to find a jump pilot job with everything I came across that I’ve considered helpful. That includes a list of all the dropzones “partnering” with Jumpers Away.

Better try and get used to Notion, it’s soooo helpful. Plus, I’ll use it for a lot of our content from now on. đŸ€Ș

A summary of everything “skydive” there is to know

JA partner DZs list

Lastly, this is NOT a sponsored post.

I am not getting paid to do this.

After reading about your struggles in the welcome survey, I genuinely believe this might be the break some of you are looking for.

I will say this though. If you do have the funds to invest in your training and do not have your CFI yet, I think for what the JA program costs ($4-6.5k), getting your CFI is still the better investment, and by far. 

I know I say that a lot for someone who didn’t get his — yeah, I just got my multi add-on right after commercial. But my situation was different, plus I kind of had the opportunity already lined up to use it.

I also know you know better about your own situation. So do what works best for you. Just my two cents.

Hope it helps. Until next time!

đŸ«Ą

P.S: if Jumpers Away’s location is a problem (Greenville, SC), there’s another training program in Las Vegas called Jump Pilot Academy (link). But I don’t know much about them, so I can only endorse Jumpers Away.

Join the conversation

or to participate.